Dark Tranquillity – Atoma


While Dark Tranquillity sticks to its same old trademarks on the new output ‘’Atoma’’, this release is a definite improvement over the last few studio efforts and a true career highlight. Especially the longing clean vocals are executed very well and used more dominantly. They give several tracks a depressive alternative rock or even gothic rock touch that isn’t a far call from bands such as Katatonia or even Placebo. The clean vocals work quite well in contrast to the more desperate and sluggish growls in the numbing ‘’Atoma’’ or the melodic ‘’Forward Momentum’’ that evoke a depressive, longing and mysterious atmosphere that dominates the entire album.

Review@Metal Archives

Rating: 4.0/5.0
Origin: Sweden
Worldwide Release: November 4th, 2016

01. Encircled 03:32
02. Atoma 04:19
03. Forward Momentum 03:40
04. Neutrality 04:17
05. Force of Hand 04:22
06. Faithless by Default 04:31
07. The Pitiless 04:08
08. Our Proof of Life 04:22
09. Clearing Skies 03:33
10. When the World Screams 03:57
11. Merciless Fate 04:22
12. Caves and Embers 04:30
13. The Absolute 05:16
14. Time Out of Place 03:38
Total playing time: 58:27

Official Website / BandCamp / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s